KidsWheels
Gruber
HobbyMasters
M.L. Toys
KidsWheels
HobbyMasters M.L. Toys
Gruber
KidsWheels
Use this area as your personal project pages or blog! Each thread belongs to one user as a project page!
By PushDaButton
Figured I might as well start one of these.

It wasn't in great shape, but it was free and the frame itself is still good. Sad little F150 before pic:

It's now fully disassembled. If there was a screw, clip or retainer before, there isn't now.

FIXES:
- Use red, black and silver paint to give it a touch-up.
- Get new mirrors to replace chew toy and snapped off ones. Add mirrored tape to replacements.
- Replace cracked, sagging front & back wheels with pneumatic tires.
- Fix front axle. While I'm not an auto mechanic, I think wheels should point in the same direction.

UPGRADES:
- ESC control. Wonder if there's an inexpensive ESC with a ramp period and throttle control?
- Replace stock motors. 775's or similar are designed for ~18 volt and should work fine for a while.
- Replace 7 year old 12V battery. Upgrade to two 12V, preferably higher run time.
- Four position stock shifter rewire:
* LOW - 12V, motors in series, batteries in parallel (~2.5 MPH)
* MED - 12V, motors & batteries in parallel (~5 MPH)
* HI - 24V, motors in parallel, batteries in series. Zoom zoom. (~10 MPH)
* REV - as LOW, in reverse
- Add brake pedal and braking resistor.
- In-dash power indicator. Thanks for the tip, PoppaFixIt!
- Starter key
- Front/rear lights. Maybe link rear to brakes and reverse.
- Parental lockout for MED & HI speeds
- Remote shutdown
- Brake pedal interlock - if you hit the brakes, it not only dumps power into the resistor, it needs to do so by completely cutting the battery out of the circuit to the motors and rendering the throttle pedal nonfunctional.