HobbyMasters
M.L. Toys
KidsWheels
HobbyMasters M.L. Toys
Gruber
KidsWheels
Anything that doesn't fit somewhere else & general forum updates
By kidTrax28
Hello, I am working on bypassing the board for a Kid Trax Tonka Dump Truck. I am a newbie to this field so I had some general operational questions as well as technical questions about these diagrams. I am using the ones that were posted by 12vwiz on the kid trax fire engine (hopefully pics attach to this post). My wire colors are different so I traced each wire, tested and recorded its function so I could wire it according to these instructions. On the wiring diagram, it appears that gray is energized by the 2nd gear position and purple is energized by the reverse position. If that is the case than my Dump truck is the exact opposite. I wanted to double check before I changed the configuration. I also was wondering how the motors are suppose to run, for instance does 1st gear simply energize one motor and 2nd gear energize both at the same time? I also don’t know what the auto brakes are that R5 mentions. Any input is greatly appreciated.
20101126122927_FIRE_TRUCK_SWITCHES.gif
20101126122927_FIRE_TRUCK_SWITCHES.gif (86.69 KiB) Viewed 25816 times
20101126185142_FIRE_TRUCK_RELAY_copy.gif
20101126185142_FIRE_TRUCK_RELAY_copy.gif (31.25 KiB) Viewed 25816 times

By 12vwiz
Readers, that drawing was pulled from my build thread on the archived forums. The electrical portion is a must read if attempting this mod!
Kid Trax Fire Truck...keep em rollin

kidTrax28 wrote: On the wiring diagram, it appears that gray is energized by the 2nd gear position and purple is energized by the reverse position. If that is the case than my Dump truck is the exact opposite. I wanted to double check before I changed the configuration.
You are reading my drawing correctly. I would wire it as the drawing suggest. If the shifter functions backwards, at that time, swap the wires at the shifter.