KidsWheels
Gruber
HobbyMasters
M.L. Toys
KidsWheels
HobbyMasters M.L. Toys
Gruber
KidsWheels
Need new motors? Grind a gearbox? Adding teeth to a pinion?
hi,
this is my first time doing modification to my son Yamaha raptor made by Peg Perego.. Im looking to replace these motors . He mostly ride on the slightly graded grassy backyard,. Which motor would you recommend for replacement and 8 pin or can I used the same 8 pin from the original motor. Any help would be appreciated. It is wire for 12v or 18v.
Attachments
20180314_1157271.jpg
Add description
You didn't state what your goal was for the modification. Did you want more speed? More torque? More of both?

You can certainly buy motors that will fit and will accept the same gear but they come in a huge variety of configurations. If the printing on the case is to be believed, the stock motors run 12000 RPM @ 12V. Replacing this motor with a stock Power Wheels motor (15700 RPM) would result in more speed but there isn't enough information to know what effect it would have on the torque since I don't have any torque information on the stock Peg motor here. The stock PW motors have the same knurling on the shaft (this is to retain the gear), which is an advantage if you are reusing the gear (most of the aftermarket motors have a smooth shaft -- you can rough those up and add green or red loctite too and they will hold the stock gears also).
Unfortunately I don't know anything about the PEG gearboxes specifically. If there is a way to put a larger (775) motor on it, I would recommend that for 18V use. If not, you can try something like a stock PW motor but I'm worried that in a "higher drag" situation - tall grass/hills/etc., it is going to overheat (18V = 2x the heat). My kids burned up a brand-new 550-series PW motor/gearbox in about 45 minutes on hilly pavement at 20V.