KidsWheels
Gruber
HobbyMasters
M.L. Toys
KidsWheels
HobbyMasters M.L. Toys
Gruber
KidsWheels
Need new motors? Grind a gearbox? Adding teeth to a pinion?
The neighbor was throwing away this:
star_baby (Small).jpg
star_baby (Small).jpg (69.64 KiB) Viewed 1553 times
He said it stopped working, people tried to fix it, and it still didn't work. I took it home and found the batteries were dead, less than 1 volts. I tried to test the motors with a 9V battery, 6V 500mA wall wart, and 12V car battery, but I couldn't get any action out of them. (Will a 9V battery and 6V 500mA wall wart give enough juice? I'm a bit new to this stuff.) It turns fine by hand, and I don't see any sign of burning.

Here's one of the motors. It's actually the one that remote controls the steering, but the motors that drive the wheels look exactly the same, only bigger:
doug_motor (Small).jpg
doug_motor (Small).jpg (74.47 KiB) Viewed 1553 times
My question is: How can I test this motor?

Also, what kind is it? I assume it's DC, but what's that capacitor soldered onto the terminals?

I just hooked this motor up to my voltmeter, and when I turned the shaft by hand, it registered a voltage. I assume this means the motor's fine, but when I connected it again to the 12V car battery, nothing happened. Anybody know what's going on?
motor + capacitor info...
http://www.pololu.com/docs/0J15/9
I have one of those Hummers aswell just not the RC model I thought it was only a 6v :idea: does it have a motor gearbox going to both back wheels? or just one side , but it should still work fine for testing using a 9v battery anyway , even a 12v ride on will run on 6v battery just slow.

After hooking up the battery I would 1st test the on/off switch , see if it has power going to it! then test the other switches including foot throttle.